About Me

Hi. I’m Deborah. Born a Canadian and lived most of my life in the Ottawa area of Canada. I found out that I have Asperger’s syndrome, or more properly now autism spectrum disorder, when I was in my 40’s and it finally explained to me why I was the way I was all my life. I developed bipolar disorder after the birth of my two daughters which has added an additional wrinkle into life. This is just my little slice of Canadian life stories. It will be random, quirky, moody just like I am.

I’m a 55 year old Canadian wife, mother of 2 girls, and daughter of two aging parents who are in their 90’s. Life is good.

I spell things with u’s lol. The Canadian way.

This is a picture of me taken in 2016.

My two beautiful daughters are teenagers and a lot of fun.

This was taken in 2014. So silly and funny a time. That’s my younger one’s “angry troll face” lol  She loves lording it over the older one as being “taller” by a few inches and “HAH”!

I grew up in the Aylmer area of Western Quebec just across the Ottawa river from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. My dad is Herbert Staneland who was born in Toronto, Ontario. My mum is Marianne Staneland (nee Dand) who was also born in Toronto. My grandfather on my paternal side was Andrew Herbert Staneland or “Pop” as we referred to him. He was born in 1871, just after Canada became a nation in 1867 and just missed Canada’s centennial by a few years when he died in 1963 at the age of 91. He married my paternal grandmother Grace Turner in his 50’s. They lived on Queen Street in the Beaches area of Toronto for many years. His father and uncles and perhaps great uncles came from Yorkshire England in the 1860’s we believe. A little hazy on the details here. But my dad was the only male child of Andrew and Grace so my brothers Andrew and Peter are the only male heirs. So my maiden name is special to me, of course, as it is rare. There are other Stanelands in the Toronto area, of course, but we don’t have any contact with them.  My brother Andrew has a son Matthew, who lives in Jasper, Alberta and a daughter Bethany, who lives in the Czech Republic, with her family. My brother Peter has a son Ben, who lives in Eastern Ontario, with his family.